My new blog–and my (expanded) 2014 writing resolutions!

Hey everyone, welcome! Thanks for visiting my new blog. 🙂 You can see all my old posts/writing on my original personal blog, here.

My last post on that blog was one recounting the year 2013 and how it really changed me, and helped me grow, as a writer. It’s long and tangential, but if you’re willing to give it a read, I’m really excited about all that’s happened this year. As for this post, I promise to actually keep this one short. 😉

As I said in that post, I plan on opening this new blog with a list of my writing-focused New Year’s Resolutions for 2014. They aren’t as impressive as my Sprint Shack co-founders Skye’s and Taylor’s, but they’ll do!

You can see my basic resolutions (as well as Skye’s and Taylor’s awesome ones) here, but I’d like to expand on mine:

Resolution 1: Get at least one work of fiction published (whether in a print or online publication)

–          I know getting a novel published is probably out of the question this year. None of my manuscripts are fully finished/revised/in submittable condition, and I’m not quite ready for that journey anyway. Rather, I’d like to see my short story The Spread (which I also talk about in my 2013 post) published: either in print or online, in a paid or free literary journal/magazine/blog. I don’t care about the money or publication credits, although those are always nice—I just want to finally have my fiction accepted somewhere and showcased for others to read!

Resolution 2: Finish the first draft of Fleeting, finally.

–          Fleeting is my fantasy WIP, and I say “finally” because I’ve been working on it on and off for three years. I started it for 2010’s NaNoWriMo and added to it a bit for 2011’s challenge, but let it sit for many months after that. Then, I finally put a nice big dent in it earlier this year, but put it away once more for this NaNoWriMo, during which I worked on a short first draft of my YA novel, Underground.

Resolution 3: Revise Underground and send to beta readers.

–          I don’t want Underground to meet the same fate as Fleeting, especially since it has a clear beginning, middle, and end and is nowhere near as complex as my fantasy world. The first draft needs some bulking and tightening up from its messy 50k state, but I think that’s perfectly doable this year. Plus, I can’t wait to send it to people and get some feedback!

Most of all, I want to take control this year. I’m going to be allotting certain months to each resolution to make sure I have clear, defined deadlines to work toward. If you read my post on 2013, you’ll notice that my accomplishments were based on a mix of determination and good luck. This year, I’m not waiting for luck… I want to make my own, to be hideously cliché about it. 😉

What about you guys? What are your writing goals?

2 comments

  1. Happy new blog, Cristina! 😀 It looks beautiful! After seeing all the features available on WordPress, I’m half-tempted to move my blog here too. If I didn’t have a base already on Blogger, I probably would. What was your thought process when you weighed up whether to move to WP or stay with Live Journal?

    Best of luck with your resolutions! We should put a date in our diaries to ask each other how we’re progressing with them each month, to hold each other accountable. I’m planning a monthly blog post on my fiction progress, but it’s not quite the same as talking to someone directly about how you’re doing. There are far more guilt monkeys if you have to tell them you didn’t make it 😉

    Congrats on the new blog and all your successes last year! May 2014 be the best year yet for you 🙂

    1. Ah Skye, I just saw this, I’m sorry for the delay!

      Thank you, thank you! 🙂 WP was a no-brainer for me, since so many writers we know on Twitter use it and LiveJournal doesn’t even have an easy subscribing feature. I just want more people to have access to my blog and its updates and such, that’s all!

      And I agree we should definitely check up on each other. That could be very helpful… and shameful if we mess up, haha.

      Now to go figure out why I didn’t get an email for your comment… hrm.

Leave a Reply

