A quick February update!

Hey there!

So… it’s been quite a while since I’ve started this blog (and posted anything new). A little over a month? Anywho, I wish I could say my absence has been due to a ton of writing, but I’d be lying–in fact, given all the awesome achievements of last year and my ambitious New Year’s goals, I’m feeling like a bit of a failure right now.

Of my New Year’s goals, I planned on tackling Underground revisions first, through NaNoWriMo’s Now What? revision initiative. Unfortunately, February (and the time for revisions) is almost over, and I’ve barely scratched at the second chapter.

On top of that, I haven’t written anything new (unless you count a few blog posts and stuff for work, although I’m talking strictly about fiction here). The blip is due to a lot of stuff going on in the personal life as well as a resulting feeling of overall exhaustion. Since January, I’ve gone through a breakup, caught up with tons of friends I hadn’t seen as a result, and found out that I’m moving into my own apartment! Combine all that with work, shopping for furniture, and all the other things life throws your way, and it’s been tough staying on top of writing… and reading, for that matter.

However, I do have some GREAT news! I’m still staying on top of my resolution to get my short story, a horror piece called The Spread, published. I had submitted it to about 5 publications in January, 4 of which passed. But one got back to me and said that, as my pitch stands now, it would be a pass–but if I were to rework a few things, namely the ending, they would give it a shot. It’s a great response in my book, because that at least means I’m writing enticing pitches! I’ve heard many authors go through tons of submissions before getting anything other than a form rejection letter, so even just a personalized one is incredibly exciting, let alone an offer for consideration!

As per the editor’s suggestion, I’ve taken some time away from my short story to give it room to breathe. The other day, I revisited it and wrote out a very rough alternate ending. I’m not fond of it yet, but it’s a step in the right direction.

Now that we’re well into 2014, it’s time to get serious again! I’m off to read and work on some Underground revisions. 🙂

3 comments

  1. Never feel like a failure when life throws you curve balls you never could have planned for. Since NaNoWriMo I’ve gone through the loss of a home, a job, and possibly a marriage. All of us can be forgiven when life intervenes. Congrats on your short story! Can’t wait to read it. I hope find even more success in 2014. With your talent, I have no doubt that it will.

    1. Aw, thank you so much, Greg! I’m so sorry I’m just seeing this–for some reason, WordPress didn’t want to show me a notification under comments until nearly two months after you submitted yours. But I appreciate it just as much as I would have two months ago! 🙂

      I’m sorry for what you’re going through, but there’s something comfortable in knowing we have such a great community (and craft!) to turn to in times of need, isn’t it?

      1. It truly is. This online community of support is encouraging and a great asset to have. 🙂

Leave a Reply

