Slow progress… and exciting news!

FINALLY—a moment to update!

Life hasn’t exactly slowed down since I last posted, but it will soon. I’m finally moved into my new apartment and wondering where these past few months have gone. Between taking on more responsibilities at work and setting everything up for the big move, the first four months of this year have flown, and I’m hoping to stay more on top of blogging, reading, and writing now that I’m settled. I’ve been writing more than ever for work and have been contributing regularly to the Sprint Shack, as well as contributed to Inked for the first time in over a year, and I just recently started taking on projects for Paper Droids again (for the first time since January).

Unfortunately, there isn’t much to update on in regards to my creative writing. After such a productive last half to 2013, I was hoping to carry over my work ethic into the new year but, as I said in my February update, life kind of got in the way. In the meantime, I did manage to revise and resubmit my short story to the literary publication that agreed to take a look at it, but I haven’t heard back. That’s kind of a bummer. Thankfully, I know all about how frustrating and long-winded the submission process can be, so I was prepared for this to not be easy!

I plan on still making my New Year’s resolutions happen, though, and one of those was to get this short story published. Whether it’s a paid or free publication, online or in print, I want to see someone else showcase my story. It’s going to happen! In addition, I’m going to work hard to make sure I meet my other two goals to revise UNDERGROUND and finish the first draft of Fleeting. If I was able to achieve as much as I did last year in only six months or so, then I know I can get this all done in eight.

To make up for my inability to take part in NaNoWriMo revisions as I originally planned, I decided I’m going to be participating in both sessions of Camp NaNoWriMo as well as November’s NaNoWriMo this year. This month, I’m working on the last third or so of Fleeting, though I don’t anticipate the story to be finished within the 20k words I set as my goal. Maybe I’ll use this summer’s Camp NaNoWriMo for those revisions since they actually require adding words rather than cutting. Then, this November, I can finally polish off the rest of Fleeting if it isn’t finished, and maybe start a new project if I have words left over to make 50k!

It feels good to finally be getting back in the swing of things. I have a list of books I’m slowly working my way through, as well, so I’m finally getting back on track with reading too!

On the more personal side, I have some SUPER exciting news. Thanks to my coworker’s suggestion that I check out the website EF College Break, I’m officially going to Ireland for 9 days in October! EF College Break is a wonderful company that organizes educational group trips for “students”—except I put students in quotations because you don’t actually have to be in school. The only requirement is that you’re within the ages of 18 and 26! Because these are more or less like study abroad trips, they get crazy group deals, allowing people to travel with others their age at affordable prices. The trip I’m going on is called The Emerald Isle.

I think I’m most excited about experiencing something/somewhere new and what that will do for my writing. I plan on journaling while I’m there and, if the inspiration strikes, doing some creative writing as well.

How are you all doing on your resolutions? Have you ever been influenced in your writing by travel?

Leave a Reply

