The Sprint Shack Turns One / The One Lovely Blog Award!

Today… The Sprint Shack turns one year old!

It’s hard to believe that it’s been one full year since I started The Sprint Shack alongside Taylor and Skye. When I first had the idea for The Sprint Shack, I was very heavily active in #WriteClub and was beginning to notice the random word sprinting taking place around Twitter, and thought it’d be great to have one place that was dedicated to word sprinting and the Twitter writing community. So I figured, why not start a blog? And when it came down to who I’d choose for my co-founders, Taylor and Skye were natural fits.

It’s been an incredible (speedy!) year. We’ve come a long way from our humble beginnings—from my horrific MS Paint graphics to Skye’s gorgeous PicMonkey ones, from 0 Twitter followers to nearly 1,500, from merely retweeting other sprinters and hosting random sprints to hosting several successful ones on a regular schedule. I’m really, really proud of us, and I can’t wait to see what the next year has in store!

Of course, we had a bit of a learning curve and some technical difficulties over the year. Within a few months of our launch, I got my own apartment, Taylor secured her first full-time job, and Skye graduated university. In the midst of all this happening at once (amongst, of course, various other life events strewn about), we’ve missed blog deadlines, forgotten about planned sprints, and dropped from one or two guest posts per month to not having a single guest poster since June. (Side note: if you want to guest post with us, you can see the guidelines and submission process here!)

But ultimately? For being only one year in the making, I think The Sprint Shack has done wonderfully and has a bright future to come. The girls and I have some great plans for it in the future and I can’t wait to see them come to fruition.

So thank you to all who read The Sprint Shack’s content and sprint with us daily. It may not seem like much, but it means the world to us! The Sprint Shack is all about the amazing writing community on Twitter—and you’re all awesome.

And now… as if on cue, when I thought the day couldn’t get any more exciting… I’ve been nominated for the One Lovely Blog Award!

 olb

Taylor received the award for her fantastic work on Little Write Lies, and has since nominated me as another recipient. The rules for this award are as follows:

  • Thank the person who nominated you.
  • Share 7 things about yourself.
  • Nominate other people for the award and notify them that they’ve been nominated.

So—of course—THANK YOU, TAYLOR! Here are my 7 things!

7 Things About Cristina

  1. I’m super excited for NaNoWriMo, but have no idea what I’m working on yet.
  2. I started NaNoWriMo in 2008. This is my 5th active year participating and hopefully a positive tiebreaker! I’ve won twice, failed twice.
  3. I’m currently on WriteChain link 28.
  4. I’m going to Ireland in exactly one week. I plan on keeping my WriteChain alive through that trip by penning one journal entry per day.
  5. I’ve always loved creative hobbies, but writing is the only one that’s my passion. For example, I love drawing to death, but am only mediocre and can only draw anything halfway decent from a picture or still-life, not from my head. I don’t do it enough to get better at it.
  6. I also dabbled in music, dedicating one year of band to the flute, clarinet, and trumpet each. I then tried guitar and piano/keyboard. Nothing stuck long-term, although I’ve always regretted not sticking with my instruments.
  7. I have a bad habit of biting off more than I can chew. I currently freelance on-and-off for two blogs, two magazines, and a newspaper; run and contribute to The Sprint Shack; work a full-time job, at which I write newsletters and blogs; and try to balance my own personal creative writing. To add to the mix, I’ve been desperately wanting to start a cooking blog (I blame Pinterest) and launch a Blogger Bootcamp project that’s been in the works for some time. Unfortunately, I’m already overwhelmed and need to figure out where I can trim down and then add.

Nominations

To show some major appreciation for those who’ve contributed to The Sprint Shack’s success in its founding year, I nominate all those who have written guest posts (who also have a blog/site of their own, of course)!

That includes…

Amy Good
Anna Cylkowski
Beau Barnett
Cait Reynolds
Mazie Bishop
Megan Whitmer
Nicky Stephens
Script Chix
Virtual Writers

Happy blogging everyone—and thank you, thank you, thank you!

Leave a Reply

