Countdown! “Summer Nights” and a trip to Greece

Well, I have some exciting things coming up, to say the least.

As I mentioned in my last post, I am anxiously awaiting The Great Noveling Adventure’s upcoming anthology, Summer Nights, which will feature my short story “Petals to the Sea!” I’m still thrumming with excitement for this; it’s my first fiction publication credit, and as a result, it’ll be the first full story many of my friends and family read from me.

These days, I typically keep my writing very close. I’d often show my fanfiction to my mom and post work on Fanfiction.net/Fictionpress.com growing up, but as I got older, my sharing became limited. Not only did I stop posting to these sites because I hope to publish a lot of my current works someday, I’m also my own worst critic, so I’m hesitant to share more than snippets and teasers with others. I also don’t want to take on too much influence before the first draft of something is done, and once it is finished, I typically only share first drafts with my beta readers Faye and Taylor. But now that I have something actually being published, I’m stoked to show everyone!

In addition to looking forward to Summer Nights, I have another big thing I’m excited for that I don’t think I’ve mentioned here yet: a trip to Greece for my 25th birthday! As soon as I got home from my trip to Ireland in October, I knew I had to sign up for another trip with EF College Break ASAP. At the time, the age limit for travelers capped at 26—they’ve since updated it to 28, but I still want to get as much travel in with them as possible. So, taking advantage of my repeat traveler’s discount and the further discount on my birthday week (since not many Americans travel out of the country on July 4th), I booked a trip to Greece!

GRIB(Map from EF College Break. If you want to book a trip of your own, use my referral code GUA575 for $100 off!)

We’re going to be spending 11 days there, from June 28 through July 8. We begin in Athens, then cruise to Mykonos, Santorini, and Ios before returning to Athens and flying home from there. My birthday, July 4, falls on a free day in Santorini. I plan on enjoying the beach and paying a visit to the beautiful Atlantis Books:

IMG_5792_edit1IMG_5804_edit1IMG_5668_edit1IMG_5491_edit1(Photos by Atlantis Books)

As I did with Ireland, I also plan on bringing my travel journal and keeping an entry for every day I’m there. EF College Break gives you a great balance of educational tours and free/leisure time, so I’m hoping to get a combination of relaxation, sightseeing, and writing inspiration from this trip.

Anyway, I’m definitely going to update before leaving. At the very least, I’ll update with a link to Summer Nights! But until then, I’m curious to know: have any of you been to these locations? Do you find traveling gives your creativity a boost? Let me know! 🙂


11 days until the release of Summer Nights
18 days until my trip to Greece!

3 comments

    1. Yes, I can’t wait! I actually found out about that bookstore all by accident: I was on Twitter one day and saw Goodreads or some other similar site tweet an article, something like “X of the most beautiful bookstores in the world,” or “X bookstores you must visit,” or something along those lines. I saw this one and just felt it was too beautiful, and too perfectly lined up with my trip itinerary to not go!

      Bookstore or no bookstore, though, I’ve heard Santorini is one of the most beautiful (and photographed) places on earth, so I’m sure it’s worth a trip. 🙂

Leave a Reply

