Bookish Adventures and a new page: Book Reviews!

The past couple of weeks, I’ve been enjoying some pretty awesome bookish adventures that I haven’t had time to post about.

In late May, I attended a “YA brunch” hosted by Geek Girl Brunch, who describe themselves as “a meetup group of ladies who geek out together, typically when mimosas are involved.” It was a BLAST, and I got to meet some amazing authors: Melissa Grey (The Girl at Midnight), Danielle Paige (Dorothy Must Die series), Zoraida Cordova (The Vicious Deep series), Claire Legrand (Winterspell), Tiffany Schmidt (Hold Me Like a Breath), and Heather Demetrios (Exquisite Captive).The brunch featured awesome goodie bags for each attendant, a mini bookstore hosted by Books of Wonder where brunchettes could purchase books and get them signed by the authors, readings by the authors themselves, and a buffet complete with cookie dough pancakes and peanut butter & jelly French toast—which, I confess, may have been just as much of a motivator for my attendance as the rest.

The brunch was a fantastic time, and you can read more about it—and the Geek Girl Brunch group as a whole—in my write-up for Paper Droids, here.

Then, a mere week later, I attended the second-annual BookCon here in NYC. It. Was. Amazing. The event was a vast improvement over the first, and though there were still some kinks that need smoothing out and I didn’t get to meet everyone I wanted to (Nick Offerman/Ron Swanson, I’m coming for you eventually), I really enjoyed it. There’s talk of it moving to Chicago next year, but I’m really hoping that’s in addition to, instead of a stand-in for, the New York City one. You can read more details about my BookCon experience in my latest review for Paper Droids here, and check out what the first year was like in comparison here.

Anyway, what did these two events have in common, aside from their successful goals of pulling in swarms of voracious readers? Free books.

Lots of free books.

 unnamed   unnamed2
(Geek Girl Brunch)                                              (BookCon)

The Geek Girl Brunch provided a “swag bag” full of goodies, including two free ARCs, and I bought 3 more books while there. From BookCon, I brought a successful haul of 10 books home, only one of which I paid for, in addition to bags full of free bookish goodies.

As a result, I’ve been on a reading frenzy. After the events, I got back on Goodreads and started compulsively reading reviews, adding books to my shelves, and marking off books I own that I hope to read soon. I’m finally finishing up the third installment of Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone series, Dreams of Gods and Monsters, which I love but has taken me far too long to read (fun fact: I discovered this series while reading reviews for Veronica Roth’s Divergent. Some didn’t appreciate that trilogy and pointed potential readers to Taylor’s instead. At the Geek Girl Brunch, I won a raffle: Divergent on DVD and Insurgent in paperback form! Looks like I’ll be checking out Roth’s trilogy, after all).

After this book and the trilogy’s novella companion are finished, I have a huge list of to-reads I’ve assembled over the past few weeks—starting with whatever yet-to-be-released ARCS I came away from these events with, because I’d like to start writing relevant book reviews again.

Which brings me, at the end of this long and rambling post (tl;dr for you Redditors), to an announcement: I’ve added a Book Reviews page to my blog! I’ve been reviewing books on occasion over the past few years; the reviews came at a fairly inconsistent pace, and some of them weren’t very time-sensitive at all. But, as I say on the page, I mostly review books for my own pleasure than for any other reason. I did intend to review some of my unpublished ARCs from last year’s BookCon and never got around to it, though, and I’d like to be a bit more on top of timely reviews if possible.

No promises on how consistent or frequent they’ll be, but any time I publish a review—whether on this blog or on any of the other sites I write for—they’ll be added to that page!

I have to give credit where credit is due, here, and thank Emily May from The Book Geek for the inspiration to start reviewing again. I’ve spent many an hour the past few weeks reading her Goodreads reviews, and all I can say is this: I can definitely see why this brilliant, well-read woman is the #1 reviewer on the site. Her reviews are thoughtful, in-depth, and honest; in addition, they address a lot of the characteristics of a book that can make or break a story for many, such as genre tropes (love triangles in YA, for example). I’ve learned a lot about reading and book reviewing through her entries on both her blog and Goodreads, and I can’t wait to start taking that analytical eye to my monstrous To-Read shelf.

Now, if you’ve made it this far, tell me: what are the latest additions to your to-read lists? I’d love to know! I also love making new friends on Goodreads, so feel free to add me!


9 days until the release of Summer Nights!
16 days until my trip to Greece!

6 comments

  1. BOOKS! Swag! Goodness, those are quite the hauls. 🙂 I’ve been trying to keep an eye out for similar events coming up through my neck of the woods (Boston area), but no one’s ventured this way recently…

    And yay for book reviews! I look forward to reading them.

    As for the Divergent Trilogy… I finished it in March, shortly after the Insurgent film was released. The first two books are pretty good, and then Allegiant… Ehhhhh. I had a lot of issues with that one.

    1. Hmmm. I’ve heard the same. So basically, I’m a huge fan of Hunger Games and thought maybe Divergent could fill that void, but the reviews on Goodreads deterred me–and many turned me to DoSaB instead (for which I am forever grateful!). But I saw a panel led by Roth at last year’s BookCon, and thought she seemed pretty brilliant and relatable, so I figured I’d eventually give it a shot. I just have to pick up Divergent since, as a result of winning that raffle, I only have the second book right now!

      I do hope you get to make it to one of these events! They’re amazing. If you ever find yourself in NYC for something like this you must tell me!

      1. I wouldn’t stop you from checking out the Divergent Trilogy if you want to. Like I said, I enjoyed the first two books, so it’s worth a start. Then if you like those, consider reading reviews of Allegiant before determining if you want to finish the series. But it’s totally up to you.

        Funny you mention that last bit, because I will be in the NYC at the end of July / beginning of August… 😉

Leave a Reply

